Home Lifestyle Celebrating Excellence in Nursing: FirstHealth nurses honored on N.C. Great 100 list

Celebrating Excellence in Nursing: FirstHealth nurses honored on N.C. Great 100 list

FirstHealth's Jason Grooms and Emily Harder were recently named to North Carolina's Great 100 nurses list. Photo by FirstHealth

PINEHURST —The North Carolina Great 100 recognizes registered nurses in North Carolina for their commitment to excellence and to promote a positive image of the nursing profession. Among the thousands of nominations from across the state, just 100 nurses who exemplify excellence in the profession are selected.

FirstHealth nurses Jason Grooms, BSN, R.N., and Emily Harder, MSN, R.N., TNCC, are among the nurses recognized on the prestigious 2023 North Carolina Great 100 Nurses list.

“In a field where dedication and compassion make all the difference, Jason stands as a shining example of nursing excellence,” said Jacklynn Lesniak, DNP, M.S., R.N., NEA-BC, FirstHealth chief nursing officer.

Grooms’ career in nursing spans 28 years. He’s served for 17 years at FirstHealth and works on the inpatient surgical care unit at Moore Regional Hospital.


Grooms said he’s grateful for the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of his patients. “I am thankful that I am able to help people and offer comfort in challenging times,” he said.

Harder joined FirstHealth in 2020, bringing with her a heart full of compassion and an unwavering desire to care for others. Her journey into nursing was guided by a tragic family incident, as she witnessed the compassionate care provided by nurses during her stepfather’s final days following an accident.

“Emily’s determination to provide compassionate care and support to others make her a true asset to the emergency room team at Moore Regional,” said Lesniak.

According to Lesniak, both Jason and Emily exemplify FirstHealth’s core purpose To Care for People. “We congratulate them on this well-deserved recognition on the North Carolina Great 100 Nurses list and are thankful for their exceptional contributions to patient care and nursing excellence.”