Home Lifestyle Richmond Senior Betas return as winners from national convention

Richmond Senior Betas return as winners from national convention

The RSHS Beta Club Campaign Skit team poses at an Orlando resort at the National Beta Convention.
Contributed photo

ROCKINGHAM — The Richmond Senior High School Beta Club came back from the National Beta Convention this week with three awards and a scholarship winner.

The students spent June 25-28 at the Swan and Dolphin Resort in Orlando, Florida, competing against other Beta Clubs from across the country.

“This was a wonderful way to end a difficult year for our students,” club Sponsor Suzanne Hudson said late Thursday morning. “Our Betas completed over 40 service events during the pandemic.”

One of those projects was painting seasonal scenes on patient windows at PruittHealth Rockingham back in December.

“To be able to travel to Nationals and represent Richmond County the way they did is something I will never forget,” said Hudson, who was joined by co-sponsor Ashleigh Buie. “We had tremendous community support and parental support in providing transportation.”

Taking fourth place in Meeting of the Minds was the team of Jaxon Mabe, Savannah Jordan, Kristen McDonald and Lauren Hudson.


The team of Ashlyn Bouldin, Lauren Hudson, Alex Yates, Molly Erwin and Carly Leggett won third in Service Snapshot.

The club also took a third-place win for Performing Arts with a team featuring Macy Faw, Alex Yates, Carissa Byrne, Taylor Young, Molly Erwin, Carly Leggett, Savannah Jordan, Lauren Hudson, Jaiden Tillman and Caroline Whitley.

Recent graduate Noah Aiken also won the $20,000 John W. Harris Scholarship.

Caleb Talton, who won state vice president in February, campaigned for national vice president, but was unsuccessful. His campaign skit team featured: Georgia Anderson, Ashlyn Bouldin, Carissa Byrne, Jullian Cline, Molly Erwin, Bobbie Faircloth, Macy Faw, Elena Hall, Camryn Hines, Tyson Holloway, Lauren Hudson, Savannah Jordan, Carly Leggett, Addison Massey, Kristen McDonald, Marley Moss, Naaman Perakis, Jonathan Rich, Jamie Sears, Abby Tatum, Jaiden Tillman, Caroline Whitley, Abby Williams, Alex Yates and Taylor Young. (pictured at top

The team also helped Nathan Hoyle, a student from Chase High School in Forest City, with his bid for national secretary, Hudson said, as he was the only student from his school to attend.


Previous articleRichmond Senior graduate wins top Beta Club scholarship
Next articleLawmakers honor Gastonia native Thomas Sowell on 91st birthday