Home Lifestyle Richmond Senior students honored at Academic Awards Ceremony

Richmond Senior students honored at Academic Awards Ceremony

HAMLET — Last night (Thursday, May 12) Richmond Senior High School held its annual Academic Awards Ceremony. This event is used to present scholarships and congratulate students on their academic achievements. 

In total, RSHS students received just over $2.7 million in scholarships. The recipients of last night’s awards are listed below. 

DAR Good Citizen Award: Jude Russell Howard 

Future in Healthcare Scholarship: Chloe Jacin Monroe 

Future in Education Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Florence Kidder Memorial Scholarship: Jude Russell Howard 

Delta Sigma Theta Scholarship: Mariah Cherise Waddell 

Sheriff James Clemmons Scholarship: Isaiah DeQuan McCray 

Make an Impact Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Voice of Democracy: Jude Russell Howard 

Rockingham Rotary Scholarship: Jamie Kay Sears 

Sandhills Pride Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford 

J.W. Mask Scholarship: Stephanie Alvarado 

Harbor Freight Fellows Program Scholarship: Ahmad Ewan Shelton and Daryan Rayne Morgan 

Gene Bellamy Memorial Scholarship: Maylyn Annette Wallace 

American Legion Oratorical Program: Jude Russell Howard 

American Legion Ellerbe Post 73: Jude Russell Howard 

Reginald Vance McEachin Memorial Scholarship: Moli Rae Cranford RiverStreet Networks Scholarship: Jude Russell Howard, Kirsten Riley McDonald, Coy Alexander Rierson, Abby Claire Russell, Jamie Kay Sears, and Maylyn Annette Wallace Hometown Heroes Scholarship: Taylar Nicole Harrington and Allyiah McCoy Swiney Jeremy Henson Memorial Scholarship: Hayley Alyssa McCormick, Marley Raye Moss, and Jamie Kay Sears 

Working For A Better Community Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald, Hayley Alyssa McCormick, Marley Raye Moss, and Maylyn Annette Wallace 

Emmanuel S. Douglas Scholarship: Isaiah DeQuan McCray 

Richmond County Democratic Women Scholarship: Taylar Nicole Harrington Ed Ormsby Memorial Scholarship: Jude Russell Howard and Jamie Kay Sears

Roger Martin Extra Effort Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford 

Fox Road Farm Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Skills USA T&I Robbie Mills Scholarship: Eduardo Mendez Guerrero 

“I Can” Scholarship: Isaiah DeQuan McCray 

James Howard Alford Memorial Scholarship: Anna Holmes Blair, Taylar Nicole Harrington, Kirsten Riley McDonald, and Allyiah McCoy Swiney 

Kristen Rankin Athletic Memorial Scholarship: Stephanie Alvarado 

Christian Clothes Closet Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford and Taylar Nicole Harrington National Beta Club Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald, Jamie Kay Sears, and Taylor Brooke Young 

Jalen A. David Scholarship: Isaiah DeQuan McCray and De-Shon Martel Watson Charles & Claudette Brownley Athletic Scholarship: Kaitlyn Marie Huff and Matthew Brian Walker 


Southern Pines Elks No. 1692: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Mary L. Quick Memorial Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford 

nVent Scholarship: Lauren Kaydance Brooke Hudson 

Richmond County Farm Bureau Scholarship: Jude Russell Howard and Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford, Taylar Nicole Harrington, Isaiah DeQuan McCray, Allyiah McCoy Swiney, and Colin Grant Wheeler 

College Board Opportunity Scholarship: Taylor Brooke Young 

Haltiwanger/Williamson Memorial Scholarship: Molli Rae Cranford and Isaiah DeQuan McCray 

Golden Leaf Scholarship: Kaitlyn Marie Huff and Kirsten Riley McDonald Pee Dee Electric Cooperation Awareness Scholarship: Stephanie Alvarado and Marley Raye Moss 

People Helping People Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Thomas H. & Mary Hadley Conner Leath Scholarship: Anna Holmes Blair and Jude Russell Howard 

Sally Cole Scholarship: Jenna Elizabeth McRae 

Cole Foundation Scholarship: Stephanie Alvarado, Kenleigh Paige Frye, Molli Rae Cranford, Jude Russell Howard, Isaiah DeQuan McCray, Kirsten Riley McDonald, Marley Raye Moss, Abby Clair Russell, Jamie Kay Sears, Cameron Michael Way, Colin Grant Wheeler, Taylor Brooke Young, and Mariah Cherise Waddell 

Goodnight Scholarship: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Leak Street Scholarship: Jamie Kay Sears and Mariah Waddell 

Alpha Alpha Phi Zeta Chapter Scholarship: Jude Russell Howard and Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Senate Outstanding Leadership Award: Anna Holmes Blair and Abigail Grace Tatum

Junior Marshals: Rylie Cora Bohman, Ashlyn Elizabeth Bouldin, Maren Elizabeth Carter, Catherine Elizabeth Dennis, Molly Lynn Erwin, Camryn Alyssa Hines, Cameron Luke Hinson, Tyson Eugene Holloway, Kablessya Aiyanna Holmes, Savannah Grace Jordan, Walker James Lambeth, Carlyn Brooke Leggett, Matthew Ayden Mabe, Addison Caroline Massey, Ashley Morgan Murphy, Naaman Alexander Perakis, Heather Joy Ellen Pike, Naylah Jayden Smeigh, Kalei Tai Sriratanakoul, Macy Claire Steen, and Abigail Renee Williams Chief Junior Marshal: Addison Caroline Massey 

Beta Club Leadership Award: Abigail Grace Tatum 

Beta Club Service Award: Kirsten Riley McDonald 

Outstanding Senior Math Student: Marley Raye Moss 

Outstanding Senior English Student: Jamie Kay Sears 

Outstanding Senior Social Studies Student: Jude Russell Howard 

Outstanding Senior Science Student: Destiny Leshay Barrick 

Highest ACT Score in the Senior Class: Anna Holmes Blair 

Summa Cum Laude Awards: Jude Russell Howard, Marley Raye Moss, Jamie Kay Sears, and Taylor Brooke Young 

RSHS Distinguished Service Award: Bianca Marie Williams 

RSHS Principal’s Award for All-Around Excellence: Jude Russell Howard and Jamie Kay Sears 

Congratulations to all of our students on their outstanding accomplishments! Thank you to everyone who awarded our students an opportunity to further their education upon graduation. If you are interested in providing a scholarship for the class of 2023 at next year’s ceremony please contact Tammy Pattan at tammypattan@richmond.k12.nc.us.


Previous articleLive at 5 (Friday, 5/13/22)
Next articleRodeo bucking into Rockingham Speedway this weekend