Home Lifestyle Searcy wins award named in honor of late Richmond County sheriff

Searcy wins award named in honor of late Richmond County sheriff

Zane Searcy speaks at the 2024 National Day of Prayer service in Rockingham. RO file photo

ROCKINGHAM — Soon-to-be Richmond Senior graduate Zane Searcy was recently honored with an award in memory of the county’s late sheriff.

Searcy was presented the James Edward Clemmons, Jr. Community Service Award by the EMBODI Group of the Bennettsville-Cheraw Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

According to a press release, the award was established to honor Clemmons because he served as a mentor to the sorority for more than 15 years.

“EMBODI stands for Empowering Males to Build Opportunities for Developing Independence,” reads the press release. “As a mentor, he served in several capacities to foster the growth in the male participants.”

Candidates for the award were nominated by teachers, counselors, assistant principals and principals from high schools, including Marlboro County High, Cheraw High, and the high schools in Richmond County.

The late James Clemmons served as sheriff of Richmond County for a decade.

Clemmons was first elected sheriff in 2010 and remained in office until his death in August of 2021.

According to the press release, Searcy “was selected based on grades, extracurricular activities, involvement with church and his commitment to community service. These were ideals and attributes that Sheriff Clemmons shared with the young men.”

The selection committee of the sorority included: Lynn Cassidy Henry, president; Dannie Blair, committee chair; Karen Clark, technology chair; Yolonda DuPree, Callie Ellerbe, Nelvin Ellerbe, Vivian Patrick and Vanessa Pearson.

Searcy, son of Sandy Wayne Robinson and Sandra Searcy, is president of the Senior Senate, plays baseball for the Raiders and the Richmond Renegades and is on the high school swim team. He also served as chief junior marshal at the 2023 graduation.

Searcy also placed third in the state American Legion Oratorical Contest in 2023 and 2024.