Home Lifestyle UNC-Chapel Hill inducts 223 students into Phi Beta Kappa

UNC-Chapel Hill inducts 223 students into Phi Beta Kappa

RO file photo

CHAPEL HILL — Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, has inducted 223 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members. 

The recent induction ceremony featured remarks by Chancellor Kevin M. Guskiewicz and Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost Robert A. Blouin, and a keynote address by Dr. John McGowan, Hanes Professor of English and Comparative Literature Emeritus. 

Phi Beta Kappa membership is open to undergraduates in the College of Arts & Sciences and professional degree programs who meet stringent eligibility requirements. 

A student who has completed 75 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a GPA of 3.85 or better on a 4-point scale, is eligible for membership. Also eligible is any student who has completed 105 hours of course work in the liberal arts and sciences with a 3.75 GPA. Grades earned at other universities are not considered. Less than one percent  of all college students qualify. 

Past and present Phi Beta Kappa members from across the country have included 17 American presidents, 42 U.S. Supreme Court Justices, more than 150 Nobel Laureates, and numerous artistic, intellectual, and political leaders. 

Phi Beta Kappa has 290 chapters nationwide. UNC-Chapel Hill’s chapter, Alpha of North Carolina, was founded in 1904 and is the oldest of seven chapters in the state. Each year, Phi Beta Kappa chapters and alumni associations across the country raise and distribute more than $1 million in awards, scholarships and prizes benefiting high schools and college students. 

Phi Beta Kappa officers at Carolina for 2021-2022 are students Kennedy Miller, president; Lucas Cain, vice president; and Mary Virginia Glennon, recording secretary. James L. Leloudis, professor of history, Peter T. Grauer associate dean for Honors Carolina, and director of the James M. Johnston Center for Undergraduate Excellence, is chapter executive secretary and faculty advisor. 

Listed below are the names of all inductees, 151 of whom are from North Carolina. The names appear below in alphabetical order by North Carolina county, then by state and country. All study in the College of Arts & Sciences except where otherwise noted.  

(Editor’s note: The RO is only listing those in Richmond and Moore counties.)


Richmond County 

Gabriella Taylor Paone, a junior with political science and peace, war, and defense majors, of Rockingham. 

Moore County 

Larcie A. Britt, a junior with neuroscience and exercise and sports science majors and a chemistry minor, of Pinehurst. 

Emily Nicole Carlson, a junior with advertising and public relations and psychology majors, of Pinehurst. 

Jamie Marie Lukow, a senior with an English and comparative literature major, of Southern Pines. 

Weston Lee Murdock, a junior with math and physics majors, of Pinehurst. 

Danielle Nicole Richmond, a junior with psychology and English and comparative literature majors and a philosophy minor, of Pinehurst. 


Previous articleJanet Quick Hall
Next articleNCDACS: Submit soil samples now to avoid peak-season fees