Home Local News Absentee ballots available for Dobbins Heights election

Absentee ballots available for Dobbins Heights election

RO file photo

ROCKINGHAM — Absentee ballots and sample ballots are now available for the upcoming municipal election in Dobbins Heights.

Three candidates filed earlier this year for the two seats up for grabs on the Town Council — sitting members Councilwoman Angeline David and Mayor Pro Tem Tyré Holloway, as well as former town clerk Mary Magee.

The deadline to register to vote in that election is Sept. 10, according to Elections Director Connie Kelly.

For an absentee ballot request form, call 910-997-8253.

Early voting runs 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Sept. 16-17, 20-24 and Sept. 27-Oct. 1, as well as 8 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 2 at the Richmond County Board of Elections, 221 S. Hancock St., Rockingham.

The election will be Tuesday, Oct. 5 at the Dobbins Heights Community Center.

Absentee ballots for the November election are required to be available 30 days prior to the election.

The deadline to register for the municipal elections in Rockingham, Hamlet, Ellerbe and Hoffman is Friday, Oct. 8.

Early voting for those elections will be 8 a.m.-5 p.m. Oct. 14-15, 18-22 and 25-29, and 8 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, Oct. 30 at the Richmond County Cooperative Extension Office, 123 Caroline Street, Rockingham.

There is a three-way race in Rockingham with Mayor Steve Morris defending his seat against Mayor Pro Tem John Hutchinson and newcomer Michael McRae.


Jeff Benson and Chris Turner will face off against sitting members Denise Sullivan, Gene Willard and Anne Edwards for three seats on the Rockingham City Council.

The top two vote-getters in the Rockingham election will have a four-year term and the third-highest will serve a two-year term. The mayoral position is also a two-year term.

Ellerbe Mayor Fred Cloninger faces a challenge from Brenda Capel, and Thomas R. Grooms and Bennett Hawks are vying for seats on that town’s board along with incumbents Elsie Freeman, Jean Fletcher and John Sears Jr.

In Hoffman, Council members Ricardo “Ricky” Anderson, Daniel Kelly, Rory K. Jones and Cynthia Northcutt are running for reelection, with Kyonna Jones trying for a seat. Mayor Tommy Hart is unchallenged.

All seats in Hoffman are up for reelection, as that town has two-year, non-staggered terms.

There is no competition for either of the two Hamlet City Council seats — currently held by Eddie Martin and Jesse McQueen — or the mayoral seat occupied by Bill Bayless.


Previous articleJames Thomas Smart
Next articlePhysician assistant joins FirstHealth Gynecologic Oncology