Home Local News Early voting starts in Richmond County on Thursday

Early voting starts in Richmond County on Thursday

More than 500 voters got a jump start on the mid-term election Wednesday for the first day of early voting.
RO file photo

ROCKINGHAM — Richmond County voters can get a jump on election day lines Thursday as one-stop early voting begins.

Polls will be open at the Richmond County Cooperative Extension Office from 8 a.m.-7:30 p.m. Oct. 20-21, 24-28, and Oct. 31-Nov. 4; 2-4 p.m. Oct. 30; and 8 a.m.-3 p.m. Nov. 5.

The deadline to register to vote in this election was Oct. 14. However, those who didn’t make that date can register and vote during early voting and must provide proof of residence.

The deadline to request an absentee ballot — either from votebymail.ncsbe.gov or the Richmond County Board of Elections — is 5 p.m. Nov. 1.

Notable races and candidates include:

Richmond County Board of Commissioners
Tavares Bostic* -D
Abbie Covington -D
Justin Dawkins* -R
Jason Gainey -R
Michael Legrand -D
Robin Roberts -R
Linda Ross – D
Rick Watkins* -R

Richmond County Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor
Johnny McInnis
Jerry Mac Snead II*

Richmond County Sheriff
Mark Gulledge* -D

Clerk of Superior Court
Vickie Daniel* -D
Ashley Brower**

District Attorney
Reece Saunders* -D

District Court Judge – 16A
Seat 1
Chris Rhue* -D
Seat 2
Chevonne Wallace* -D

N.C. Senate – District 29
Dave Craven* -R
Brooke Crump -D

N.C. House – District 52
Ben Moss* -R

U.S. Senate
Cheri Beasley -D
Ted Budd -R
Matthew Hoh -G
Shannon Bray -L

U.S. House of Representatives
9th District
Richard Hudson* – R
Ben Clark -D

8th District
Dan Bishop* – R
Scott Huffman – D

The ballot will also include candidates for the N.C. Supreme Court and N.C. Court of Appeals.

For more information, contact the Richmond County Board of Elections at 910-997-8253 or email richmond.boe@richmondnc.com.


* Incumbent
** Brower started the petition process as an unaffiliated candidate but has since switched affiliation to the Republican Party.

Previous articleMendez earns All-SAC honors, Lady Raiders place 3rd at conference championship
Next articleShakeout earthquake drill scheduled for Oct. 20