Home Local News Ellerbe Middle School Elects Student Government Association

Ellerbe Middle School Elects Student Government Association

2017-2018 EMS Student Government Officers: Natalie Meacham, Caroline Hunsucker, Jocelyn Mercado, Jamie Sears, Marissa Sweet and Gracie Mabe.
Photo courtesy of Bonnie Yarbrough.

ELLERBE – The excitement of campaign week has drawn to an end as ballots have been cast and the Ellerbe Middle School Student Government positions have been chosen.

Out of the considerable number of students who ran, 16 have been elected to serve as officers and members at large. This is the second year Ellerbe Middle has had a Student Government Association under the direction of guidance counselor Meghann Lambeth. 

“These student leaders are an example of good character and integrity,” Lambeth said. “And they’re are a service to not only our student population, but our community as a whole.”


Officers that were elected were President Jamie Kay Sears (eighth grade), Vice President Jocelyn Mercado (seventh grade), Secretary Natalie Meacham (sixth grade), Treasure Caroline Hunsucker (sixth grade), Public Relations Officer Gracie Mabe (sixth grade), and Historian Marissa Sweet (eighth grade).

The members at large were Ally Maynor, Ashtyn Parker, and Weldon Walker (all sixth grade). For seventh grade, Taylor Boles, Ashlyn Bouldin, Kaitlyn Quick and Kadia Rucker were selected, and representing the eighth grade are Jeffery McRae, Hunter Stutts and Makayla Webb.

The members of Ellerbe’s SGA will be active in the school’s day-to-day activities, planning events and help “run the school” under the guidance of Lambeth and other faculty and staff.

Previous articleLady Raiders Roll to 18-0; Hold Hoke County Off Scoreboard
Next articleWhat’s On Tap for the 3rd Annual Hoptoberfest; Over a Dozen Vendors to Showcase Products