Home Local News McCready Concedes to Harris 9th Congressional District Race

McCready Concedes to Harris 9th Congressional District Race

ROCKINGHAM — The race for North Carolina’s 9th Congressional District has officially come to an end.

Democrat Dan McCready conceded to Republican Mark Harris late Wednesday afternoon, following a tight election that left McCready fewer than 2,000 votes behind.

“For me now, country over party means offering my help to Mark … as he takes over his new job representing us,” McCready said in a video posted to his campaign’s Facebook page. “I believe when our leaders succeed, all of us succeed.”

Harris released a statement saying that McCready called to congratulate him on his victory, saying it was “a very friendly discussion during which we both agreed to find ways to work together in the weeks and months ahead.”

“As someone who has been on the other side of close races, I appreciate Dan’s graciousness today,” Harris continued. “He ran a spirited campaign and I have no doubt as to his love of country. I look forward to sitting down with him to discuss ways we can work together for the betterment of the 9th District.”

Harris declared victory prior to all the precincts reporting.

When all the results came in to the North Carolina Board of Elections after 1 a.m., the numbers showed 138,273 voters chose Harris, 136,404 picked McCready and 5,037 opted for Libertarian Jeff Scott.

The only two counties to predominantly favor Harris were Union and Bladen. McCready won the majority in Richmond, Anson, Scotland, Robeson, Cumberland and Mecklenberg counties. 

The race was closest in Richmond County with McCready leading by only 2 percent or 281 votes.

Out of North Carolina’s 13 Congressional seats, only three will be held by Democrats: G.K. Butterfield in the 1st District; David Price in the 4th District; and Alma Adams in the 12th District. All three were incumbents who won their respective races.


Congressman Walter Jones, a Republican in the 3rd District, was the only candidate unopposed.

The race between Harris and McCready was the closest of the Congressional contests.

The current vote totals are unofficial and do not include provisional or absentee ballots, which will be added when votes are canvassed Nov. 16.

Since the margin of votes was less than 1 percent, McCready was entitled to ask for a recount.

The seat is currently held by Rep. Robert Pittenger, whom Harris defeated in the Republican primary earlier this year.


Previous articleBook Review: ‘Freakonomics’ Asks Uncommon Questions
Next articleRaider soccer season recap: program “headed in the right direction” following Larsen’s first year as head coach
Managing Editor William R. Toler is an award-winning writer and photographer with experience in print, television and online media.