Home Local News McInnis reelected as co-majority whip of the N.C. Senate

McInnis reelected as co-majority whip of the N.C. Senate

Senator Tom McInnis is one of the primary sponsors of the STOP Act.
Sen. Tom McInnis

RALEIGH — State legislator Tom McInnis is keeping his leadership position in the North Carolina Senate.

President Pro Tem Sen. Phil Berger, R-Rockingham, announced late Monday afternoon that McInnis, R-Moore, was reelected as majority whip by the Republican Caucus in the Senate chamber of the General Assembly.

“I’m incredibly thankful to be reelected as Senate Whip,” McInnis said in a statement. “I’m honored to serve in this position and look forward to picking up where we left off, with legislation that has made North Carolina the best state in the country in which to do business.”

According to a press release, the caucus has two whips “who work behind the scenes to garner support for legislation.”

McInnis will again serve as co-whip with Sen. Jim Perry, R-Lenoir. Both were elected to the position in 2020.

“Sen. McInnis was an effective whip this past term, and helped us move important legislation forward,” Berger said in a statement. “I’m confident he will do a great job this upcoming term as well.”

Berger was also reelected as president pro tem. He has held that position since 2010 after Republicans took control of the General Assembly for the first time in more than a century.


“I’d like to thank my colleagues for entrusting me to lead the Senate for another term,” Berger said. “I look forward to another two years of helping create a better North Carolina for all.”

Other leadership positions include:

  • Senate Majority Leader – Sen. Paul Newton, R-Cabarrus
  • Deputy President Pro Tempore – Sen. Ralph Hise, R-Mitchell
  • Caucus Liaison – Sen. Carl Ford, R-Rowan

In January, McInnis was appointed to co-chair the Joint Legislative Transportation Oversight Committee with Sen. Vickie Sawyer, R-Iredell. Sawyer and McInnis are co-chairs of the Senate Transportation Committee, along with Sen. Danny Earl Britt Jr., R-Robeson.

He also served on the following committees this session:

  • Joint Legislative Education Oversight Committee
  • Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Local Government
  • Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on the N.C. State Lottery
  • Joint Legislative Commission on Governmental Operations.

McInnis was first elected to the state senate after defeating former Rockingham mayor and then-incumbent Gene McLaurin — who now chairs the Economic Development Partnership of N.C. Board of Directors — and has won every subsequent reelection.

The Ellerbe native changed his residency to run this year for the District 21 seat, representing Moore and northwestern Cumberland counties.

Richmond County now falls in the 29th District, represented by Sen. Dave Craven, R-Randolph. The district also includes all of Montgomery and Anson counties, along with the eastern half (cut diagonally) of Union and about 3/4 of Randolph.

Previous articleNorth Carolina’s economy is on a downward trend
Next articleOBITUARY: Carol Reaves Allen