Home Local News Richmond County Republican convention slated for March 19

Richmond County Republican convention slated for March 19

ROCKINGHAM — Several state legislators are on tap to speak at the Richmond County Republican Party’s annual convention later this month.

The convention is scheduled for 2 p.m. Saturday, March 19 at 503 Rockingham Road.

At least two of the speakers will be facing off against each other in the party’s primary.

State Reps. Ben Moss, R-Richmond, and Jamie Boles, R-Moore, were double-bunked when the General Assembly drew new district maps last year. Even after a court-mandated re-draw, the two remained in the new House District 52.

Moss, a former Richmond County commissioner, is currently serving his first term in the N.C. House of Representatives and Boles is in his seventh.

Boles’ current District 52 comprises about two-thirds of Moore County, while Moss represents Richmond and Montgomery counties and a sliver of northeastern Stanly County.

The new district comprises all of Richmond and southeastern Moore.

For as long as most can remember, the House delegate representing Richmond County has been from the county — and Moss is the first Republican to hold the seat.

State Rep. Dave Craven, R-Randolph, has also confirmed his appearance, according to county party Chairman Jerry Austin.

The 29th Senate District includes all of Richmond, Montgomery and Anson counties, along with the eastern half (cut diagonally) of Union and about three-fourths of Randolph.

According to Ballotpedia, Craven was appointed in the summer of 2020 to fill out the remainder of the term vacated by the resignation of Sen. Jerry Tillman, and was elected to the seat the following November.

While he doesn’t have a primary opponent, Craven will face Mount Gilead Democrat Brooke Crump in the general election.

Richmond County is now split into two Congressional districts, following a decision last month by a three-judge panel that included Richmond County Superior Court Judge Dawn Layton.

Rep. Richard Hudson, who has represented Richmond County before, filed to run in the 9th District — but he’s not alone.

Records with the N.C. State Board of Elections show Hudson will face Mike Adriani of Fayetteville, Jen Bucardo of Asheboro and Francisco Rios of Charlotte in the May 17 Republican primary.

The winner of the primary will go on to face current state Sen. Ben Clark, D-Hoke.

Dan Bishop, who currently serves Richmond County in the U.S. House of Representatives, is unopposed in both the primary and general election, records show.


Austin said Monday that Bishop would not be able to attend and he was still waiting to hear from Hudson’s office.

The primary ballot will also feature 12 Republicans in the race for the U.S. Senate seat currently held by Richard Burr.

Notable names in that race are former governor Pat McCrory, former congressman Mark Walker and Rep. Ted Budd.

McCrory, Walker and Marjorie Eastman recently debated at the Carolina Liberty Conference hosted by the John Locke Foundation. Budd was invited but did not attend.

Other Republican candidates are: Jen Banwart of Holly Springs; Lee Brian of Clayton; Benjamin Griffiths of Cleveland; Charles Kenneth Moss of Randleman; Lichia Sibhatu of Raleigh; Drew Bulecza of Lincolnton; Leonard Bryant of Fayetteville; and Kenneth Harper Jr. of Fayetteville.

As for local races, seven Republicans are vying for a seat on the Richmond County Board of Commissioners: incumbents Justin Dawkins and Rick Watkins; and challengers Jason Gainey, Thomas Davenport, Robin Roberts, Danny Pearson and Karen Everett.

Watkins switched his party affiliation prior to filing opening in December.

All Republicans and unaffiliated voters are invited to attend the convention, Austin said.


Previous articleN.C. WILDLIFE: Find a bear den, leave it alone
Next articleSamaritan Colony names treatment scholarship in honor of longtime Richmond County educator Shirley Fuller