Home Local News Stephen Thompson to fill District 5 seat on Pee Dee Electric Board...

Stephen Thompson to fill District 5 seat on Pee Dee Electric Board of Directors

LILESVILLE – Stephen Thompson of Montgomery County has been appointed to fill the District 5 seat on the Board of Directors for Pee Dee Electric Membership Corporation. The seat became vacant after Donald Thompson stepped down from his duties. District 5 comprises parts of Richmond, Montgomery, and Moore counties.

Thompson received his associate degree in automotive technology from Guilford Technical Community College and began working for the North Carolina Department of Transportation in 2002. He is the Equipment Superintendent for Division Eight and works part-time on the golf course maintenance staff at Pinehurst No. 2.

He was born and raised in Montgomery County in the Thickety Creek Community, where he and his wife, Emily, live with their son Oliver. He is an active member of Holly Mount Baptist Church and enjoys spending time outdoors. His hobbies include farming, stock car racing, golfing, and being a member of the Thickety Creek Bluegrass Band.


Thompson began his duties with the board of directors in May. He looks forward to serving Pee Dee Electric’s members and ensuring the cooperative’s continued success.

Pee Dee Electric is a not-for-profit, member-owned cooperative headquartered in Lilesville, NC. As a distributor of electric power since 1939, Pee Dee Electric is committed to providing value, quality member service, and enhancing life in the communities we serve. Our mission is to power a brighter future, one member at a time. Pee Dee’s service area consists of Anson, Montgomery, Moore, Richmond, Scotland, Stanly, and Union counties. For more information about Pee Dee Electric, please visit www.pdemc.com