Thursday, 09 May 2019 22:58

33 ADN graduates pinned at Richmond Community College ceremony

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
33 ADN graduates pinned at Richmond Community College ceremony Charlie Melvin - Richmond Observer

HAMLET — A river of white flowed through Cole Auditorium Thursday as 33 nursing students complete one journey and head into the next.

A crowd of friends and family filled the hall in support of their loved ones for the Richmond Community College Lillian Duer James School of Nursing’s 42nd annual Associate Degree Nursing Pinning Ceremony.

In addition to the pins, each graduate — even the male students — was presented with a red rose.

Their journey to the traditional pinning ceremony took them through 76 credit hours of study.

Monica Jacobs, ADN Class of 2019 president, said she would miss seeing her classmates every day.

“The struggle has been real,” she said. “Many of us have self-diagnosed ourselves with stress overload related to sleep deprivation, social isolation, imbalanced nutrition as evidenced by being a nursing student at Richmond Community College.”

At the end of the day, however, Jacobs said it was worth it all.

The trials and tribulations they faced together, she said, “gave us the courage, strength and wisdom that we needed to become the outstanding nurses that I know you will all be.”

“Although we are anxious to start our career, and to know what having a life means again, I know that we’ll all carry a piece of this journey in our hearts for a while,” she concluded. “I know, with time, we will become a powerful force of amazing nurses.”

ADN Class of 2019 (with awards)

Brittany Channel Brower - Harold E. Morrison Compassion and Professionalism Award

Peyton Brianna Butler - Scholastic Achievement Award

Stephanie Brooke Cain

Casey Jean Cairnie

Kalee Diane Carter

Candler Ashton Cochran

Jackeline Elizabeth Cockerton

Sabrina Janine Crowder

Ruby Mae Saluda Dollente

Braxton Marie Faircloth

Matthew Jonathon Hall

Emma Eloise Ellerbe

Conner Gregory Hutchinson

Monica Lynn Jacobs - Scotland Health Care System Nursing Service Award

Cierra Diane Locklear

Lisa Cheyenne Locklear - Scotland Health Care System Administration Award

Destiny Lynn Lowry

Sarah Alexus McMillan

Gabrielle Josephine Melton

Amber Taylor Morton

Shelby Marie Mossman

Robert Lewis Player

Elizabeth Paige Pressley - FirstHealth Richmond Memorial Hospital Professional Nursing Award

Jodi Lynn Purvis

Selena Dawn Quick - FirstHealth Richmond Memorial Hospital Professional Nursing Award

Mary L. Rhodes

Latasha Reaves Ross

Logan Bullock Strange - Joseph W. Grimsley Humanitarian Award

Andrea Catherine Stubbs - Pediatric Award

Kimberly Sellers Tyner -In Memory of Dora Hildreth Sellers

Tabitha Marie Usher

Charlene Kaye Vallance

Tiffany Michelle Vandermark


Last modified on Thursday, 09 May 2019 23:11