Print this page
Tuesday, 19 May 2020 09:16

Richmond County included in emergency designation for farm relief due to April storms

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

MONROE — On May 1, 2020, President Donald Trump declared a major disaster in the State of South Carolina based on damages and losses caused by severe storms, tornadoes, and straight-line winds that occurred April 12-13, 2020.  

In accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act, 7 adjacent counties in North Carolina are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency (EM) loan assistance.  These counties are:

  • Anson
  • Jackson
  • Macon
  • Richmond
  • Robeson
  • Scotland
  • Transylvania

Suzanne Simpson said that effective May 1, 2020, farmers in  Richmond  may apply for EM loans for physical and production losses. Jan. 2, 2021, is the deadline for filing an application. The local office is located at 3230 A Presson Road, Monroe, NC 28112_and has office hours of 8:00 am until 4:30 pm. Simpson said that any farmer who suffered a physical or production loss should contact her office for additional information.


Grammarly Writing Support
Press Release

Latest from Press Release

Related items