Saturday, 02 December 2017 08:01

Congressman Pittenger Introduces Bipartisan Bill to End Congressional "Hush Fund"

Written by
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Congressman Robert Pittenger (NC-09) Congressman Robert Pittenger (NC-09) Office of Congressman Robert Pittenger.

WASHINGTON – Congressman Robert Pittenger (NC-09) has introduced bipartisan legislation to prohibit the use of taxpayer money for settlements in connection with sexual harassment or sexual assault involving Members of Congress.

The legislation was introduced Thursday in partnership with Congressman Ron DeSantis (FL-06).

“Sexual harassment is wrong. Expecting taxpayers to pay hush money to hide your misdeeds is outrageous,” said Congressman Pittenger.  “Members of Congress should be held to a higher standard, and Members of Congress should be held accountable for their actions.”

According to Congressman Pittenger's office, the Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act:

  • Prohibits the use of taxpayer money to pay settlements or awards for sexual harassment or assault claims
  • Requires public disclosure of payments previously made by the Office of Compliance (the name of the victim is expressly prohibited from being disclosed)
  • Requires offenders to reimburse taxpayers, with interest
  • Prohibits nondisclosure agreements as a precondition to initiate claims
  • Permits victims of sexual harassment and assault to make public statements, regardless of any previously signed nondisclosure agreement

The Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act, introduced by Congressmen Pittenger and DeSantis, was co-sponsored by Representatives Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI), Kathleen Rice (D-NY), Walter Jones (R-NC), Jim Cooper (D-TN), Don Bacon (R-NE), Jim Banks (R-IN), Jack Bergman (R-MI), Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Diane Black (R-TN), Rod Blum (R-IA), Dave Brat (R-VA), Cheri Bustos (D-IL), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Delaney (D-MD), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN), Rueben Gallego (D-AZ), Jody Hice (R-GA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Mike Johnson (R-LA), Dave Loebsack (D-IA), Tom Marino (R-PA), Martha McSally (R-AZ), Luke Messer (R-IN), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Tom O’Halleran (D-AZ), Gary Palmer (R-AL), Steve Pearce (R-NM), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Jared Polis (D-CO), Francis Rooney (R-FL), Thomas Rooney (R-FL), Todd Rokita (R-IN), Mark Sanford (R-SC), Brad Schneider (D-IL), Scott Tipton (R-CO), Mimi Walters (R-CA), Roger Williams (R-TX), and Ted Yoho (R-FL).


Last modified on Friday, 01 December 2017 22:50