Opinion

Opinion (633)

Tuesday, 29 September 2020 12:14

OPINION: COVID-19 panic is the new state religion

Written by

The TL;DR on COVID-19: Panic, not science, continues to drive the public policy discussion.

Monday, 28 September 2020 09:53

OPINION: Lieutenant governor rivals differ sharply

Written by

The post of lieutenant governor is a constitutional office in North Carolina, and the only one empowered to exercise both legislative and executive powers. Those powers are rather limited, however — casting a vote in the state senate when there is a tie, “presiding” over that chamber in a titular (but rarely practical) sense, and serving on several boards.

Friday, 25 September 2020 13:45

COLUMN: I'm a lousy pen pal

Written by

The other night, after dinner, my wife pointed to a small stack of mail on my desk. She had noticed it getting a little taller and eventually it caught her attention. She picked it up and dropped it on the keyboard of my laptop. 

Thursday, 24 September 2020 11:14

OPINION: North Carolina against the grain

Written by

Polls coming in around the country show a country that could be closely divided in the electoral college while seeing a blow out in the popular vote or a country that handily elects Joe Biden president of the United States. In North Carolina, we might see something different than the rest of the nation. For the past two presidential cycles, we have diverged from the nation as a whole.

Wednesday, 23 September 2020 12:36

OPINION: District closings boost homeschooling

Written by

North Carolina is already the homeschooling capital of the United States. Now the attraction of this education option is soaring higher than ever — thanks not to the actions of its proponents but to the antics of its opponents.

Wednesday, 23 September 2020 12:13

OPINION: America needs 2 fast things

Written by

America is in need of two things very fast and very different. One large, and one small — sort of. One that goes a couple hundred miles an hour, and one that goes almost the speed of light. One that travels in complicated paths, and one that goes in a giant circle. One that is familiar, and one that is not so much. One that is reliable and efficient, and one that crashes constantly.

"The American people," U.S. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) said in 2016, "should have a voice in the selection of their next Supreme Court Justice. Therefore, this vacancy should not be filled until we have a new president." McConnell took that position in response to President Barack Obama's nomination of Merrick Garland to replace the late Antonin Scalia.

Monday, 21 September 2020 12:14

OPINION: State economic recovery is sputtering

Written by

 According to the latest jobs report, North Carolina’s headline unemployment rate fell to 6.5% in August, down from 8.5% in July. Good news worth celebrating, right?

Friday, 18 September 2020 12:48

COLUMN: My choice for president will change the world

Written by

Once again, America has found itself at crunch time. We are a stone's throw from another presidential election. 

Page 1 of 49