Opinion

Opinion (415)

Monday, 27 January 2020 13:29

COLUMN: State's economy flourished in 2019

Written by

I gather from my social-media feeds and hate mail that North Carolinians are supposed to be infuriated at the way things are going in our state. I have my frustrations with certain politicians, to be sure, but I’m not infuriated. Nor am I alone.

Friday, 24 January 2020 18:32

COLUMN: Deciding against diet and exercise

Written by

At this point in January, a lot of people have already given up on their New Year's resolutions. Those lofty goals and promises have gone by the wayside as people realize that the $10 they paid to join that popular gym in town that has pizza night could have been spent on the pizza alone and not brought any kind of physical fitness in to the mix. 

Dear Editor,

I am writing to thank Rockingham residents for sharing the true meaning of Christmas with children in need this past holiday season.

On Aug. 11, 2014, officers from the Caldwell, Idaho, Police Department asked for Shaniz West’s permission to enter and search her home. They were looking for her ex-boyfriend. West authorized the search and handed over her keys.

Tuesday, 21 January 2020 13:17

COLUMN: Thoughts on the NYT endorsement

Written by

On Sunday, the New York Times endorsed both Elizabeth Warren and Amy Klobuchar for president. Or at least to become the Democratic nominee. The endorsement comes at a time when Warren is trying to settle a high-profile dispute with Bernie Sanders and Klobuchar is struggling to gain enough momentum to stay in the race. 

Monday, 20 January 2020 13:34

COLUMN: Partisan battle extends beyond suburbs

Written by

 Everyone knows that North Carolina is a closely divided purple state. Everyone knows that in 2020, many statewide races and control of the state legislature will be hotly contested. And everyone knows that with Democrats increasingly dominant in urban areas and Republicans in rural areas, the only real battleground will be in the suburbs.

Friday, 17 January 2020 15:13

COLUMN: The fear of public speaking

Written by

When you ask most people what things they are afraid of, there is a list of usual suspects most of the time. A lot of people are afraid of heights. I am, so I can understand that fear quite well. My wife is afraid of spiders. I am afraid of snakes. My wife doesn't mind snakes so much and I don't really have a concrete opinion of spiders, so it works out for both of us.

Wednesday, 15 January 2020 13:20

COLUMN: Politics is a pile of shared psychoses

Written by

Dr. Bandy Lee, a psychiatrist affiliated with Yale University, posits a "'shared psychosis' among just about all of Donald Trump's followers."

Tuesday, 14 January 2020 14:13

COLUMN: What's wrong with North Carolina?

Written by

Last week, the Republicans in the Kansas legislature reached an agreement with the Democratic governor to expand Medicaid. Today, the North Carolina legislature goes back into session. Maybe we could see a similar agreement here. 

Page 1 of 32