Opinion

Opinion (656)

Friday, 25 October 2019 19:37

COLUMN: Old eating habits are hard to break

Written by

In an effort to be a more transparent journalist, I am informing the readers of this column that it was written about five minutes after I ate some hazelnut almond biscotti ice cream directly from the container. 

“There continues to be meaningful public conversation about how we think about Tweets from world leaders on our service,” begins a post at the micro-blogging service’s non-micro-blog.

Tuesday, 22 October 2019 14:11

COLUMN: A North Carolina senator's conundrum

Written by

A National Journal article this weekend listed Sen. Thom Tillis as the incumbent U.S. senator with the lowest approval rating. The piece says that Democrats’ path to taking back the Senate is becoming increasingly clear and that North Carolina will be front and center again. In 2014, Tillis unseated incumbent Democrat Kay Hagan in the most expensive U.S. Senate race in North Carolina history as Republicans took control of the Senate after near misses in 2010 and 2012. 

Monday, 21 October 2019 12:58

COLUMN: States are better governed

Written by

As established in the federal constitution, America’s national government was meant to be small and tightly focused on matters of truly nationwide scope. It is neither. Washington busybodies have usurped countless powers that, according to the clear language of the Tenth Amendment, were “reserved to the States respectively, or to the people.”

Friday, 18 October 2019 18:35

COLUMN: Homesick Baltimore Blues

Written by

It's no big secret that I am not a North Carolina native. I've lived here for almost 10 years. I wasn't one of those folks who move from a northern place to North Carolina and try to make it like it was back home. I came here to get away from all that nonsense, so you don't have to worry about me being one of the transplants who moves here only to complain that life was so much better back home. 

Tuesday, 15 October 2019 14:34

COLUMN: The downside of impeachment

Written by

Unless there's some dramatic change in the political landscape over the next month or so, I believe that the U.S. House of Representatives will impeach President Donald Trump.

It must have been an impressive sight on Aug. 5 when 40-year-old Frenchman Franky Zapata crossed a 22-mile stretch of the English Channel on a hoverboard, escorted by helicopters and military ships.

Monday, 14 October 2019 12:59

COLUMN: Pols should accept urban realities

Written by

In 2012, 92 percent of North Carolina workers commuted to their place of employment by automobile. By 2018, that share had dipped to 90 percent.

Friday, 11 October 2019 19:53

COLUMN: Is our climate changing?

Written by

Has anyone felt that our summers are hotter and our winters milder? Well, if your answer is yes, you are not alone. 

Page 24 of 51