Opinion

Opinion (250)

Thursday, 14 February 2019 18:17

COLUMN: Universal background checks are back

Written by

While everyone was chatting about the 2018-2019 United States government shutdown, House Democrats introduced a universal background check bill H.R. 8 on Jan. 8, 2019.

Tuesday, 12 February 2019 23:21

COLUMN: Where justice goes to die

Written by

The traditional depiction of Lady Justice is a woman wearing a blindfold to demonstrate impartiality. In her right hand she wields a sword (symbolizing swift punishment for the guilty). Her left arm holds aloft a scale to weigh the opposing sides' cases — publicly, for all to see.

Tuesday, 12 February 2019 12:13

COLUMN: Sen. Berger is just plain wrong

Written by

There’s an old maxim in American politics, usually attributed to former U.S. Senator and Nixon administration cabinet secretary Daniel Patrick Moynihan, that “Everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but not to their own facts.” Would that Moynihan were still alive today so that he could direct a reminder of this simple truth toward North Carolina Senate President Pro Tem Phil Berger.

Monday, 11 February 2019 11:04

COLUMN: Growth still drives worker pay

Written by

If the most important factor determining the welfare of workers is the growth rate of the economy, that has policy implications that free-market conservatives, among others, will welcome.

Monday, 11 February 2019 10:41

LETTER: Small-town nostalgia

Written by

To the editor:

In 1966, my family moved to Hamlet, North Carolina. My father was the terminal superintendent there with the Seaboard Airline Railroad. We came from Savannah, Georgia, and had no idea what to expect.

It’s time to wake up, North Carolina. Enough is truly enough.

In truth, it’s well past time lawmakers take substantive steps toward rewriting or eliminating much of the arcane laws governing alcohol, painfully documented in N.C. General Statute 18b.

Thursday, 07 February 2019 19:20

COLUMN: Perusing pictures of the past

Written by

We all know the old saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. It's been ingrained in our minds as long as we can remember. 

Thursday, 07 February 2019 16:42

LETTER: The Bible is pro-coercion

Written by

To the editor:

This is a response to Michael Maharrey's opinion column “Is the Bible 'Pro-Government?'”

Let's begin by stating some obvious facts. 

While North Carolina has become more accommodating to those outside the two-party paradigm, with the recent recognition of the Green and Constitution parties, third-party and unaffiliated voters are still getting the shaft.

Page 5 of 20