Monday, 13 July 2020 11:03

Nall wins Mopars at the Rock combo eliminator title; Helmick doubles up with Hellcat Challenger in Modern Street Hemi Shootout

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)
New Bern’s Kevin Helmick was a double winner at Rockingham Dragwayin his Gumpcat Hellcat New Bern’s Kevin Helmick was a double winner at Rockingham Dragwayin his Gumpcat Hellcat Rockingham Dragway

ROCKINGHAM — Veteran Barry Nall, who probably has logged as many laps at Rockingham Dragway as anyone else on the planet, used that familiarity to his advantage Saturday to turn back Laura Glasscock of Keysville, Virginia, in the final round and win the Top ET/Footbrake combo eliminator portion of the 29th annual Griffin Motors MOPARS at the Rock expo.

A five-time Rockingham track champion, Nall prevailed in a final between classic muscle cars. The Eagle Springs resident gave his 1968 Plymouth Barracuda an advantage at the outset with a .012 reaction time to turn back Glasscock’s 1971 Dodge Challenger, which was unable to duplicate the .019 package it produced in a semifinal win over the ’71 Dodge Dart of Stanfield’s Joe Hartsell.

 Off the track, Best of Show Awards went to the 1970 Dodge Swinger of Randleman’s Tom Rich in the classic division, to the 2015 Challenger of Anna Konya of Conway, South Carolina, in the modern division and to 2016 RAM of Dean Craft of Myrtle Beach,South Carolina, in the truck division.

Stephanie Wolfe of Sherrills Ford took home the Editor’s Choice Award for her 1983 Jeep and Charlotte’s Queen City Challengers earned the club participation trophy.

Other drag race winners included Joshua Jones of Kannapoliis, who won the Charger Shootout, Joshua Gibson of McColl, South Carolina, who prevailed in the Challenger Shootout and Statesville’s Mark Dudley Jr., who beat David Horton in the Trophy Class final round.

In the Modern Street Hemi Shootout, New Bern’s Kevin Helmick was a double winner in his 2016 Hellcat and could add the King of the Street title which will be decided at the next event in the MSHS series.

Other winners were Brian Brunt of Wixom, Michigan, Chris Detresne of Pomfret, Maryland, John Govenettio of Hamburg, New York, Don Springstead of Gillett, Pennsylvania, and Laura Willingham of State Road.

Results from the 29th annual Griffin Motors MOPARS at the Rock featuring the Modern Street Hemi Shootout at Rockingham Dragway. Hometowns are North Carolina unless otherwise indicated.  Racing results include reaction time, track time in relation to target time and finish line speed:


  • Editor’s Choice Award – Stephanie Wolfe, Sherrills Ford, 1983 Jeep
  • Best of Show Classic – Tom Rich, Randleman, 1970 Dodge Swinger
  • Best of Show Modern – Anna Konya, Conway, S.C., 2015 Dodge Challenger
  • Best of Show Truck – Dean Craft, Myrtle Beach, S.C., 2016 Dodge RAM
  • Best Club Participation Trophy – Queen City Challengers, Charlotte

CHARGER SHOOTOUT –Joshua Jones, Kannapolis, 2019 Charger, .004, 12.597 on a 12.550, 100.78 mph, def. Greg Donaldson, Charlotte, .127, 12.240 on a 12.000, 112.28 mph.

CHALLENGER SHOOTOUT – Joshua Gibson, McColl, S.C., .352, 12.956 on a 12.900, 110.13 mph, def. Chris Martin, foul.


Round 5 – Joe Hartsell, Stanfield, 1971 Dodge Dart, .031, 5.537 on a 5.490, 119.90 mph, def. Walt Thrower, Willow Springs, 1967 Plymouth Barracuda, .125, 6.367 breakout on a 6.380, 103.57 mph; Barry Nall, Eagle Springs, 1968 Plymouth Barracuda, .007, 5.865 on a 5.850, 116.94 mph, def. Dennis Copple, Shallotte, .039, 6.387 breakout on a 6.400, 103.57 mph; Laura Glasscock, Keysville, Va., 1971 Dodge Challenger, .057, 6.504 on a 6.480, 103.54 mph, def. Darin Smith, Sanford, 1970 Plymouth Roadrunner, .127, 6.596 on a 6.580, 103.18 mph.

Semifinals – Glasscock, .017, 6.482 on a 6.480, 106.24 mph, def. Hartsell, .031, 5.517 on a 5.500, 122.39 mph; Nall, bye.

FINAL – Barry Nall, Eagle Springs, 1968 Plymouth Barracuda, .012, 6.165 on a 5.860, 91.59 mph, def. Laura Glasscock, Keysville, Va., 1971 Dodge Challenger, .036, 8.501 on a 6.480, 93.20 mph.


Round 3 – Unknown #2250, .414, 13.775 on a 13.750, 99.95 mph, def. Nat Wolfe, Sherrills Ford, 1979 Jeep, .278, 12.595 breakout on a 12.600, 93.63 mph; Joshua Jones, Kannapolis, 2019 Dodge Charger, .275, 12.761 on a 12.490, 88.95 mph, def. Unknown #985, .564, 13.031 on a 12.600, 108.80 mph; David Horton,  Belews Creek, 1967 Dodge Coronet, .047, 12.826 on a 12.440, 86.14 mph, def. James Lowe, Colfax, 1969 Dodge Coronet, .031, 15.883 on a 15.360, 81.79 mph; Mark Dudley Jr., Statesville, .079, 13.733 on a 13.650, 84.00 mph, def. Unknown #258,  .182, 12.136 on a 12.000, 113.25 mph.

Semifinals – Horton, .113, 12.862 on a 12.440, 93.88 mph, def. Uknown #2250, .471, 13.955 on a 13.750, 98.39 mph; Dudley, .099, 13.779 on a 13.650, 85.54 mph, def. Jones, .275, 12.508 breakout on a 12.550, 109.95 mph.

FINAL – Mark Dudley Jr., Statesville, .046, 13.715 on a 13.650, 90.54 mph, def. David Horton, Belews Creek, 1967 Dodge Coronet, .083, 12.539 on a 12.490, 105.76 mph.


Final Rounds

OUTLAW – Kevin Helmick, New Bern, 2016 Hellcat Challenger, was unopposed.

8.50 INDEX – Kevin Helmick, New Bern, 2016 Hellcat Challenger, def. Ron Polidora, Hubert, 1964 Dodge Polara.

10.0 INDEX – Brian Brunt, Wixom, Mich., 2008 Jeep SRT, def. Leanne Mayberry, Roanoke, Va., 2016 Hellcat Challenger.

10.50 INDEX – Chris Dutresne, Pomfret, Md., 2018 Jeep Trackhawk, def. George Fedrick, Manassas, Va., 2013 Dodge Charger.

12.50 INDEX – John Govenettio, Hamburg, N.Y., 2016 Hellcat Challenger, def. Steve Benecke, Havertown, Pa., 2017 Dodge Charger.

BRACKET – Don Springstead, Gillett, Pa., 2006 Dodge Charger, was unopposed.

ROOKIE – Laura Willingham, State Road, 2015 Dodge Challenger, def. Joe Grana, Pembroke, Fla., 2019 Hellcat Challenger.